Board index » TinyOS » Sensor Boards

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: water level sensor
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2013, 22:05
  


Joined: 02 Feb 2013, 10:29
Posts: 11
Hi again all,

Do you know,can a water level sensor or indicator can be directly or indirectly connected to a mote that has Tinyos?If it is,how it may be?If you could some details i'de pleased.Thanks from now.


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: water level sensor
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2013, 03:42
  

User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: 25 Jun 2010, 21:23
Posts: 97
Location: Netherlands
Of course' it can. What sensor are you using?

_________________
Image


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: water level sensor
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2013, 06:38
  


Joined: 02 Feb 2013, 10:29
Posts: 11
My sensor is telosb.


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: water level sensor
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2013, 06:39
  


Joined: 02 Feb 2013, 10:29
Posts: 11
if there is an option please give details.Thanks from now


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: water level sensor
PostPosted: 19 Feb 2013, 12:24
  

User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: 25 Jun 2010, 21:23
Posts: 97
Location: Netherlands
I meant what kind of water level sensor you have :P but generally this is the case:

Well its up to you to select the proper water level sensor for your project. But the thing is, almost any electronic sensor converts physical quantities that they are intended to measure into electric signal, either a voltage level or current level.

If you check the TelosB, it comes with 2 sensors (temp and light sensors). This sensors are connected to ADC pins of the microprocessor on TelosB (MSP430 from Texas Instrument). If you check the apps folder of tinyos I think there is a sample app to read these sensors (I think the app name is oscilloscope). TelosB on its extension header has input pins for extra ADC connection. You can connect your custom sensnor to these sensors and in the code for default sensors you can adjust the ratio level of the signal your water level sensor produces to read the sensor output.

I suggest you try to get the default sensors on your board to work using the example apps and then when you mastered that you can then connect your own sensor, make proper changes in code and read your water level sensor instead! Its quite easy but you have to start working on it anyway!

_________________
Image


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group